indonesia travel magazine

Raja Ampat Islands, Traditional Villages

Raja Ampat Islands, Traditional Villages

Papua Traditional Villages, Raja Ampat,

Papua Traditional Villages, Sorong,

Located off the northwest tip of Bird’s Head Peninsula on the island of New Guinea, in Indonesia’s West Papua province, Raja Ampat, or the Four Kings, is an archipelago comprising over 1,500 small islands, cays, and shoals surrounding the four main islands of Misool, Salawati, Batanta, and Waigeo, and the smaller island of Kofiau.

Raja Ampat Regency is a new regency which separated from Sorong Regency in 2004. It encompasses more than 40,000 km² of land and sea, which also contains Cenderawasih Bay, the largest marine national park in Indonesia. It is a part of the newly named West Papua (province) of Indonesia which was formerly Irian Jaya. Some of the islands are the most northern pieces of land in the Australian continent.

Read also

Asmat Village

Asmat Villages This Papuan Asmat village in the coastal swamps consists of one long house housing several families. The people live in and are part of nature. Photo by Marcel Silvius

Read More »

Raja Ampat Mining

Raja Ampat Mining Coral sea paradise faces ruin from mining Tom Allard July 2, 2011 ONE of Australia’s richest men, Clive Palmer, is buying nickel laterite ore for his Yabulu refinery from an Indonesian company that is defying a ban and mining in Raja Ampat, the world’s most ecologically diverse[…]

Read More »

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *